Junior Lifesaver of the Year (JLOTY)

Each season SLS Sydney Junior Development Committe hold the Junior Lifesaver of the Year competition which is open to any U14 from across the Sydney Clubs who holds their Surf Rescue Certificate (SRC) award.

This award is assess on a wide range of skills and achievements at Nippers and in the wider community.

The candidates gained their Surf Rescue Certificate (SRC) in the U14’s of the current season, and have completed their time at ‘Nippers’, now graduating to serving on patrol in their SLS red and yellow uniform.

The nominated candidates are interviewed by a panel from Sydney Branch including members of the Branch Junior Development and  Lifesaving and Education Committee’s, plus previous winners.

Each candidate is interviewed and assessed on their knowledge of SLS, their active involvement within their own surf club and extended community, their leadership skills, communication and presentation skills, and their plans for their own future role within Surf Lifesaving.

2016-2017 Winners
Asher Wilson – Coogee,  Bridget Crick – South Maroubra

2016-17 Finalists
Michaela Whitmee – Cronulla
Kiara Lee Summers – Elouera
Kyle Matkovic – Maroubra
Tara Georges – Maroubra
Bridget Crick – South Maroubra
Cooper Stokes -South Maroubra
Asher Wilson – Coogee
Bronte Howarth – Coogee
Emma Schreck – North Cronulla

Past winners of this SLS Sydney Award  :
2015-2016 Chloe Walker – Coogee,  Michael DeFrancesca – North Cronulla
2014-2015 Emily Maythers – North Cronulla, Jed Buckley – Wanda
2013-2014  Shea Garcia – Elouera, Brianna Tier – Maroubra
2012-2103  Austin Wem – South Maroubra, Chelsea Williams – Elouera
2011-2012  Lillian Hassett – North Cronulla, Lachlan Callaghan – Coogee
2010-2011  Lachlan Pryke – Wanda, Lauren Rofe – Wanda
2009-2010  Callum Good – South Maroubra, Briana Polson – Elouera