Memorandum



To: Branch Presidents, Branch Directors of Lifesaving, Branch CEO's & Staff, Club Presidents/Captains, Gear

Steward/Radio Officers

From: Andrew Crow – Duty Operations Coordinator

Date: 9 July 2015

Pages: 2

Subject: Pre-Season Radio Equipment Servicing

The purpose of this memo is to advise that all lifesaving radios (handhelds and Club/ATV/4WD base sets) can now be sent to a Surf Life Saving NSW approved Radio Communications Service Agent for annual pre-season servicing and reprogramming. This should be completed prior to the 2015-2016 Branch Gear and Equipment Inspections in August/September.

The link below is the updated list of all approved Radio Communications Service Agents. Only these providers will hold the updated SLSNSW frequency lists and relevant SLS programming information.

<u>Please view the approved Radio Communication Service Agents here.</u>

As per SLSNSW SOP LS7.1 – Radio Communications, all Club/Services radios must be serviced and reprogrammed by an approved SLSNSW Radio Communications Service Agent. Once complete, Clubs/Services should input the information into SurfGuard (Organisational Management).

For any new Hytera PD662G radio purchased in the past 12 months (directly or from SLSNSW grants), these radios do not need to be serviced this year and only need to be re-programmed (unless the club requires them to be serviced). Please talk to an approved Radio Communications Service Agent about this to confirm requirements.

Inclusion of Automatic Number Identification (ANI)

As per last year, all radios which are serviced by an approved Radio Communications Service Agent will be given an assigned ANI number. This is a 5 digit tone (caller ID) transmitted by each radio. This feature will assist SurfCom with the source of unreadable or unplanned transmissions. This is particularly important for member safety (if in an isolated/poor coverage area and/or needing help).

It is extremely important to ensure all radios are marked/labelled with which service it is intended to be used for (e.g. Avalon Beach SLSC, Sydney Northern Beaches Support Ski 1, Duty Officer - Sydney Northern Beach 14). This will ensure the correct ANI number is assigned to each radio.

Digital Radio Network

As per the recommendations in the 2013 Coastal Radio Network Review, SLSNSW is rolling out a Digital Radio Network over the next few seasons. Phase one of this rollout will occur this season in the Mid North Coast Branch (Kempsey-Port Macquarie). Clubs/Services in this area are asked to talk with their Branch Director of Lifesaving regarding radio re-programming for the coming season prior to sending their radios to an approved Radio Communications Service Agent.

Purchasing new Radios

If your Club/Service wishes to purchase new radios, Surf Life Saving NSW suggest you purchase a digital DMR tier 2 radio which is compatible with the current analogue UHF repeater network. These radios can also be used in digital mode as we roll out the Digital Radio Network. The *Hytera PD662G* radio is the Surf Life Saving NSW suggested make/model. To purchase, please see the contact details for *Karera Communications* on the approved Radio Communication Service Agents document at the link above.

Radio Profiles

As per the SLSNSW Standard Operating Procedures, each club has their own radio profile where they have a specific primary repeater on channel 3. On page 2 please see each club's primary repeater (channel 3).

If you have any questions please contact Andrew Crow – Duty Operations Coordinator on 9471 8000 or acrow@surflifesaving.com.au.

Surf Life Saving New South Wales

Branch	Club	Primary Repeate
FNC	Ballina Lighthouse Lismore	Ballina
	Brunswick	St Helena
	Byron Bay	St Helena
	Cabarita Beach	Cudgen
	Cudgen Headland	Cudgen
	Evans Head	Evans Head
	Fingal Rovers	Cudgen
	Lennox Head	Lennox Head
	Salt	Cudgen
	Yamba	Yamba
NC	Bellinger Valley-North Beach	South Solitary
	Coffs Harbour Minnie Water	South Solitary Minnie Water
	Nambucca	Nambucca
	Red Rock-Corindi	South Solitary
	Sawtell	South Solitary
	Urunga	South Solitary
	Woolgoolga	South Solitary
	Camden Haven	Transit Hill
	Hat Head	Smokey Cape
	Kempsey-Crescent Head	Mt Yarrahappini
	Macksville-Scott Head	Mt Yarrahappini
MNC	Port Macquarie	Transit Hill
	South West Rocks	Mt Yarrahappini
	Tacking Point	Transit Hill
	Wauchope-Bonny Hills	Transit Hill
	Black Head	Crowdy Head
	Cape Hawke	Crowdy Head
	Crowdy Head	Crowdy Head
LNC	Forster	Forster
	Pacific Palms	Pacific Palms
	Taree-Old Bar	Crowdy Head
	Birubi Point	Shepherds Hill
	Catherine Hill Bay	Shepherds Hill
	Caves Beach	Shepherds Hill
	Cooks Hill	Shepherds Hill
	Dixon Park	Shepherds Hill
	Fingal Beach	Gan Gan
HUN	Merewether	Shepherds Hill
	Newcastle	Shepherds Hill
	Nobbys	Shepherds Hill
	Redhead	Swansea
	Stockton	Shepherds Hill
	Swansea Belmont	Swansea
	Tea Gardens-Hawks Nest	Hawks Nest
cc	Avoca Beach	Avoca Ridge
	Copacabana	Copacabana
	Killcare	Killcare
	Macmasters Beach	Copacabana
	North Avoca Beach	Avoca Ridge
	North Entrance	Norah Head
	Ocean Beach	Avoca Ridge
	Shelly Beach	Norah Head
	Soldiers Beach	Norah Head
	Terrigal	Avoca Ridge
	The Entrance	Norah Head
	The Lakes	Norah Head
	Toowoon Bay	Norah Head
	Umina	Avoca Ridge
	Wamberal	Avoca Ridge
	Batemans Bay	Malua Bay
	Bermagui	Montague Island
FSC	Broulee Surfers	Mt Wandera
	1	+

Branch	Club	Primary Repeater
SNB	Avalon Beach	Bilgola
	Bilgola	Warringah
	Bungan Beach	Warringah
	Collaroy	Warringah
	Dee Why	Warringah
	Freshwater	Warringah
	Long Reef	Warringah (Manly)
	Manly Mona Vale	Warringah (Manly) Warringah
	Narrabeen Beach	Warringah
	Newport	Bilgola
	North Curl Curl	Warringah
	North Narrabeen	Warringah
	North Palm Beach	Barrenjoey
	North Steyne	Warringah (Manly)
	Palm Beach	Barrenjoey
	Queenscliff	Warringah (Manly)
	South Curl Curl	Warringah
	South Narrabeen	Warringah
	Warriewood	Bilgola
	Whale Beach	Barrenjoey
	Bondi	Bondi
	Bronte	Bondi
	Burning Palms	Maddens Plains
	Clovelly	Bondi
	Coogee	Bondi
	Cronulla	Cape Banks
	Elouera	Cape Banks
SYD	Era	Maddens Plains
	Garie	Garie
ILL	Maroubra	Cape Banks
	North Bondi	Bondi
	North Cronulla	Cape Banks
	South Maroubra	Cape Banks
	Tamarama Wanda	Bondi Cano Banks
	Austinmer	Cape Banks Hill 60
	Bellambi	Hill 60
	Bulli	Hill 60
	Coalcliff	Coalcliff
	Coledale	Hill 60
	Corrimal	Hill 60
	Fairy Meadow	Hill 60
	Helensburgh S/P	Coalcliff
	North Wollongong	Hill 60
	Port Kembla	Hill 60
	Sandon Point	Hill 60
	Scarborough Wombarra	Hill 60
	Thirroul	Hill 60
	Towradgi	Hill 60
	Windang	Hill 60
	Wollongong	Hill 60
	Woonona	Hill 60
	Gerringong	Saddleback
	Kiama Kiama Downs	Saddleback Saddleback
sc		
	Mollymook Nowra-Culburra	Mollymook Point Perpendicular
	Shellharbour	Saddleback
	Shoalhaven Heads	Saddleback
	Sussex Inlet	Sussex
	Warilla-Barrack Point	Saddleback
	Narooma	Montague Island
FSC	Pambula	Merimbula
rac	Tathra	Tathra
		ı